Can't update ddnet somehow

Problems that don't fit in other categories.
Dan_cao
User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 am

Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by Dan_cao » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:40 am

My ddnet version is 11.7.2, the newest version is 12.4.3. But the update button didn't show up. How can I update it except download a new one?

User avatar
stompie
User
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:40 pm
Player profile: stompie
Mapper profile: stompie

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by stompie » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:27 am

\,,/(◣_◢)\,,/

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by deen » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:15 am

That means your system somehow can't access https://info.ddnet.tw/info
What does the log (black console window) say about accessing that?
You could try disabling firewall.
Do you happen to use WinXP?

Dan_cao
User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 am

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by Dan_cao » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:10 am

deen wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:15 am
That means your system somehow can't access https://info.ddnet.tw/info
What does the log (black console window) say about accessing that?
You could try disabling firewall.
Do you happen to use WinXP?
I can access info.ddnet.tw/info in my browser.
I don't know how to see the log...
I had disabled the firewall.
My os is win7 64bit

Dan_cao
User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 am

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by Dan_cao » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:13 am

stompie wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:27 am
https://ddnet.tw/downloads/
It is a bad idea, you have to download a new one whenever it updates.

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by deen » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:01 am

Dan_cao wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:10 am
I don't know how to see the log...
cl_show_console 1 and then it should show a black window when you start DDNet. There should be output about downloading the info file.

Another possibility is that the client doesn't have filesystem permissions in config_directory.bat/ddnet-info.json. You could try giving your user full read/write rights on that directory or running the client as admin (to test only, not as a permanent solution).

Could you upload the ddnet-info.json file from there?

Dan_cao
User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 am

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by Dan_cao » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:01 am

1.png
download failed

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by deen » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:12 am

That sounds suspiciously like the requests are being redirected through some firewall. Can you please provide the certificate information when you access https://info.ddnet.tw/info in your browser? The (i) next to the padlock should lead you there. It should look something like this:
screenshot-20190611@090710.png
The background here is that DDNet client is more strict than browsers about what certificates to accept. We hardcoded the client to only accept the specific CA we use (Let's Encrypt), exactly to prevent anyone else for acquiring a certificate for info.ddnet.tw/update.ddnet.tw and then distributing updates in our name.

As a next step you could try downloading https://info.ddnet.tw/info and overwriting the ddnet-info.json file with it, but then the update itself will probably fail the same way.

Dan_cao
User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 am

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by Dan_cao » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:26 am

1.zip
(1.41 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Is it? the cetificate.

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Can't update ddnet somehow

Post by deen » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:35 am

That looks like the correct certificate indeed. Then maybe they only send another certificate if we connect with DDNet client instead of a browser. I guess we could attempt looking more like a browser or we could try printing more details about the failed certificate. @Learath2?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest