Better generic automapper

Need a logo or graphic? Ask here.
Post Reply
Im 'corneum
User
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:58 pm
Clan: ☭birming

Better generic automapper

Post by Im 'corneum » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:26 pm

Hey. You all know what it looks like when you have a area of generic and then use the automapper. It's almost only the 1x1 tiles and here and there a3x3 or 2x2. I was wondering if it's possible to make the automapper use as many 2x2/3x3/2x3 as possible. It just looks better.
reply to this post or your mom will die in her sleep tonight

fokkonaut
User
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

Re: Better generic automapper

Post by fokkonaut » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:01 pm

I thought about that just 2 days ago too :o imo its a really good idea, I would like to have this automapper too :)

User avatar
mokuz
Contributor Team: Skin Database Crew
Posts: 748
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: Finland
Player profile: Mokuz
Mapper profile: Mokuz
Clan: Legendary

Re: Better generic automapper

Post by mokuz » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:18 pm

best idea 2012!!!!
Image

User avatar
hi_leute_gll
User
Posts: 2532
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:15 am
Player profile: hi_leute_gll
Mapper profile: hi_leute_gll
Clan: iMTG

Re: Better generic automapper

Post by hi_leute_gll » Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:47 pm

It is sadly not possible. You would need an algorithm which computes a distribution of these multiblocks covering as much area as possible while it makes sure to not overuse a certain type of multiblock. The automapper in the client can't do this, it can just follow simple rules, such as if there is tile x then place y to the left of it. The question is: How should the automapper get, where to place these multiblocks and which?
In the current way it places randomly the top-left corner and then autocompletes them while deleting overlapping blocks, but this isn't working if you really want to cover the whole (or most) of the area, while using different shapes.
.hi._.leute._.gll. | iMTGmember

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3268
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Better generic automapper

Post by deen » Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:46 pm

"Just make the automapper a lua script" would be a "solution" for this. I think the current approach is good enough.

fokkonaut
User
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

Re: Better generic automapper

Post by fokkonaut » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:44 pm

deen, can you do this for me/ us? I don't know what a lua script is or how to make it

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests