logitech g keys

Problems that don't fit in other categories.
fokkonaut
User
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

logitech g keys

Post by fokkonaut » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:00 pm

hey, im using a g910 from logitech and i want to bind commands etc on my g keys. however, the game does not recognize these keys. can you add this?
There is a plugin for ts3 that allowes you to use g keys + different modes (there are 3 modes, m1, m2 and m3. so i got 9 g keys (g1-g9) and that allowes me to have up to 27 different bindings on these keys. in ts3 the keys are g1/m1 for g1 in porfile 1. but i think the profiles are not that neccessary if its too hard). can this be implemented in tw too?
(if that helps: its open source)

EDIT: i now got a profile for the g keys to work in games that siupport them. maybe thats less work to just support them like other keys.
(i think its possible bye adding the keys g1 etc. because when i click options and controls and try to use them, the game doesnt recognize the key so it wont use it.

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: logitech g keys

Post by deen » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:18 pm

Can't you just make them send a normal key event like any other key?

fokkonaut
User
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

Re: logitech g keys

Post by fokkonaut » Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:16 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waaiQwin81o
found a solution with unused f13-f24 keys (still not exactly what i wanted but thats at least good :D)

and nope. thats not possible if the game doesnt support gkeys from logitech

Chairn
User
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:05 pm
Player profile: Chairn
Clan: QuintessenZ

Re: logitech g keys

Post by Chairn » Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:14 am

Logitech provides a driver that allows you to redefine keys when a specific program has the focus. I use for my mouse, and i'm pretty sure it works also with their keyboard.

fokkonaut
User
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

Re: logitech g keys

Post by fokkonaut » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:20 pm

Chairn wrote:
Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:14 am
Logitech provides a driver that allows you to redefine keys when a specific program has the focus. I use for my mouse, and i'm pretty sure it works also with their keyboard.
Logitech Gaming Software? Im using that already for my Mouse and my keyboard

There is no Others possibility if the game doesnt support g keys.

Chairn
User
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:05 pm
Player profile: Chairn
Clan: QuintessenZ

Re: logitech g keys

Post by Chairn » Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:43 pm

Can't you make a new profile for only teeworlds, and say that when you press g1, it sends the key x for instance (or a combination of key)? Maybe they have an update for more recent keyboard.

fokkonaut
User
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 5:59 pm
Player profile: fokkonaut

Re: logitech g keys

Post by fokkonaut » Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:08 pm

Chairn wrote:
Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:43 pm
Can't you make a new profile for only teeworlds, and say that when you press g1, it sends the key x for instance (or a combination of key)? Maybe they have an update for more recent keyboard.
ofc i could. but all keys on my Keyboard are bound to something. so i cant use them for my g keys.i used f13 - f24 as they are recognized by Windows and games etc but arent on my Keyboard. still, i have 27 macros and thats only 12 keys so there is still something missing.
the "easiest way is to support g keys".
Dont ask me how but the source of the ts3 plugin is public, maybe that helps idk :s

GG Kid
User
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:33 am
Location: U.S.A.
Player profile: Bolto
Clan: Kerger

Re: logitech g keys

Post by GG Kid » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:24 am

Some ideas

#1 Not all keyboard layouts have 105 keys, try using you Operating Systems configuration to select a keyboard model with more keys like "Apple Keyboard with Numeric Keypad - 109 keys" not sure if you can on windows but at least you can on Linux. basically what Deen said; make more 'normal' keys 'events' to send to TW (like you did; but i did not look at that link until i already wrought this, nice work-around :)

#2 Make the G-keys into a macro that types the command you want, might even be fast enough to bind a free key & execute it

Edit: i have i similar keyboard to the one deen linked below.
Last edited by GG Kid on Sun Jan 07, 2018 3:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
meew'
User
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:17 pm
Player profile: meew'
Clan: Möhre

Re: logitech g keys

Post by meew' » Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:09 pm

an idea: you a normal keyboard :> wtf is f13-f24?
911 mapping police

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: logitech g keys

Post by deen » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:04 pm

Normal keys on some keyboard layouts
Attachments
5qVowmR.jpg

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest