Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Less critically criticized general topics.
Post Reply

Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Yes
31
72%
No
12
28%
 
Total votes: 43

User avatar
timakro
User
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 6:05 pm
Location: Germany
Player profile: timakro
Mapper profile: timakro
Clan: υηιqυє
Website: https://timakro.de/

Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by timakro » Thu May 19, 2016 5:24 pm

I'm tweaking the default settings for the DDNet Client right now and I'm interested if most of the players have auto switch weapon on pickup enabled like me.
Last edited by timakro on Thu May 19, 2016 6:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Lady Saavik
Testing Team: Tester
Posts: 1763
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 4:02 pm
Player profile: Lady Saavik
Mapper profile: Saavik

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by Lady Saavik » Thu May 19, 2016 5:35 pm

yes because you often have to use weapon right after you get it

User avatar
Ñı©Ø
User
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:22 pm
Location: Italy
Player profile: Ñı©Ø
Mapper profile: Ñı©Ø

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by Ñı©Ø » Thu May 19, 2016 5:39 pm

I don't usually do but in some maps it is required to be fast and in some other maps you need to pick a grenade by flying with the shotgun so you can't use it or you will fall...

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3271
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by deen » Thu May 19, 2016 6:04 pm

Useless setting. Since it's client-side you have to wait some ms until weapon actually switches. Instead press 4 before picking up a grenade, this will register grenade as your wanted weapon in server and switch it immediately as you get the weapon.

User avatar
stompie
User
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:40 pm
Player profile: stompie
Mapper profile: stompie

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by stompie » Thu May 19, 2016 6:38 pm

Is it worth removing i dont think so if thats what your trying to ask because i and most of the people iknow play with it on and with it one you get so used to pressing buttons for weapons that u pick up but dont want to use like while flying
Also its easier pressing 1 or 2 than it is thinking about what is the laser if u forgot and then pressing 5 almost missing it every time :P
\,,/(◣_◢)\,,/

User avatar
Soreu
User
Posts: 1375
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:47 pm
Location: Poland
Player profile: Soreu
Mapper profile: Soreu
Clan: GSP

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by Soreu » Thu May 19, 2016 8:08 pm

Mostly I'm relying on the auto-pickup option, yet if I know I will have to use something in a moment - and I don't have it yet - I already change wanted weapon with bind, so the way deen mentioned
„Vince te ipsum”

         :3             |     GSP Founder     Honorary iMTGmember
Graphic-guy     |     Website & Forum Team Leader (Ex)     [ToP] Leader (Dead)

Last truly active: Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:13 pm - having great DDNet in both memory and heart

Pathos
User
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:30 pm

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by Pathos » Fri May 20, 2016 11:26 am

deen wrote:Useless setting. Since it's client-side you have to wait some ms until weapon actually switches. Instead press 4 before picking up a grenade, this will register grenade as your wanted weapon in server and switch it immediately as you get the weapon.
I agree with this, though I wouldn't call it a useless setting. Outside of this poll, I knew that this option is used a lot.

The other option I use is auto-switch when out of ammo, though I don't think I would need this setting if the ammo graphics were more easily visible (grenades is the only one that's easily visible, except when there are maps with red graphics, then the grenade ammo blend in, costing more effort).

User avatar
Ñı©Ø
User
Posts: 1928
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:22 pm
Location: Italy
Player profile: Ñı©Ø
Mapper profile: Ñı©Ø

Re: Do you play with auto switch weapon on pickup?

Post by Ñı©Ø » Fri May 20, 2016 1:30 pm

Maybe people use this more in other mods like dm or ctf

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests