Page 1 of 2

Improve overlay entities

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:44 pm
by BannZay
Some time ago I`ve tried to edit entity tiles by myself. But everytime oficial ones updates you have to update your also.

I would very very like to see less noize in tiles when they are in a group.
For example freeze tile... well I just truly hate DDNet version of it after a day playing with edited tileset.

There static pictures to compare.

Original:
original.png
Freeze tile only edited:
edited.png
But its nothing comparing to dynamic game where such tiles is just everywhere and always in move.

P.s.: personally I dont believe that tile edges helps more then hurts (yes, you can count without million holes inbetween them). At least let us have official alternative please. Instead of it we have to create custom ones.

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:39 pm
by Im 'corneum
personaly i never had problems with the dots

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm
by stompie
ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:10 pm
by deen
First we had the freeze without the black dots but then we switched to the black dots so that people can better estimate distances. I usually play zoomed out a bit so they are barely visible. You also have to remember that entities mode is mostly for map testing, not playing.
stompie wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm
ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful
cl_text_entities 0

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:15 am
by ┇»MíM«┇
stompie wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm
ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful
TextEntitiesOn.cfg
(83 Bytes) Downloaded 13 times
TextEntitiesOff.cfg
(83 Bytes) Downloaded 11 times
Put these in your %appdata%>teeworlds folder.
Go ingame, and in f1 type "exec textentitiesoff.cfg"

Now when you scroll-click you will have an indicator for it.
Thought i'd share this.

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:13 am
by stompie
having no text is no help tho i still want/need it just would like it smaller
@ ┇»MíM«┇ toggling it on and off seems to be a nice way to do it since i have zoom on my mouse aswell i can toggle off while looking at the map zoomed out and back on when playing :D

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:19 pm
by BannZay
deen wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:10 pm
First we had the freeze without the black dots but then we switched to the black dots so that people can better estimate distances. I usually play zoomed out a bit so they are barely visible. You also have to remember that entities mode is mostly for map testing, not playing.
Deen, can I have a link/explanation why anyone even want this "better estimate distance" possibility? (ingame I mean, I dont care about entities in editor, they will stay) During my ~7 years experience I`ve never been wanted this ever (may be cause I can count ground entities but never freeze tiles)

This topic is worrying me, that is why I know a lot of players that using it NOT for testing but for playing. Not sure if there more testers then such players. At least the game client is more for players but not for testers, is not it? Plus, tester - is mostly exeperienced player.

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:30 pm
by deen
For testers to easily say whether something is still hookable.

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:44 pm
by BannZay
I was a mapper, I was a tester, I`m a player.
I understand your point, but I fcking want use overlay entities to play poor designed maps also. While this looks awfull in DDNet client, I cant do that.
So what can I do ?

I want control over situatuion istead of attempts to undestand designer ideas

Re: Improve overlay entities

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:23 pm
by deen
If we change it back how do we know whether someone won't complain the other way around?