Improve overlay entities

Tell us what ideas you have and what features you would like to see.
User avatar
BannZay
User
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:26 am
Location: Ukraine
Player profile: BannZay
Mapper profile: BannZay

Improve overlay entities

Post by BannZay » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:44 pm

Some time ago I`ve tried to edit entity tiles by myself. But everytime oficial ones updates you have to update your also.

I would very very like to see less noize in tiles when they are in a group.
For example freeze tile... well I just truly hate DDNet version of it after a day playing with edited tileset.

There static pictures to compare.

Original:
original.png
Freeze tile only edited:
edited.png
But its nothing comparing to dynamic game where such tiles is just everywhere and always in move.

P.s.: personally I dont believe that tile edges helps more then hurts (yes, you can count without million holes inbetween them). At least let us have official alternative please. Instead of it we have to create custom ones.
Attachments
original.png

Im 'corneum
User
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:58 pm
Clan: ☭birming

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by Im 'corneum » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:39 pm

personaly i never had problems with the dots
reply to this post or your mom will die in her sleep tonight

User avatar
stompie
User
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:40 pm
Player profile: stompie
Mapper profile: stompie

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by stompie » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm

ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful
\,,/(◣_◢)\,,/

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3274
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by deen » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:10 pm

First we had the freeze without the black dots but then we switched to the black dots so that people can better estimate distances. I usually play zoomed out a bit so they are barely visible. You also have to remember that entities mode is mostly for map testing, not playing.
stompie wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm
ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful
cl_text_entities 0

┇»MíM«┇
User
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:29 pm
Location: Poland
Player profile: ┇»MíM«┇

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by ┇»MíM«┇ » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:15 am

stompie wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:50 pm
ive always had a dislike for anything with numbers on it just looks awful
TextEntitiesOn.cfg
(83 Bytes) Downloaded 10 times
TextEntitiesOff.cfg
(83 Bytes) Downloaded 8 times
Put these in your %appdata%>teeworlds folder.
Go ingame, and in f1 type "exec textentitiesoff.cfg"

Now when you scroll-click you will have an indicator for it.
Thought i'd share this.

User avatar
stompie
User
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:40 pm
Player profile: stompie
Mapper profile: stompie

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by stompie » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:13 am

having no text is no help tho i still want/need it just would like it smaller
@ ┇»MíM«┇ toggling it on and off seems to be a nice way to do it since i have zoom on my mouse aswell i can toggle off while looking at the map zoomed out and back on when playing :D
\,,/(◣_◢)\,,/

User avatar
BannZay
User
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:26 am
Location: Ukraine
Player profile: BannZay
Mapper profile: BannZay

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by BannZay » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:19 pm

deen wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:10 pm
First we had the freeze without the black dots but then we switched to the black dots so that people can better estimate distances. I usually play zoomed out a bit so they are barely visible. You also have to remember that entities mode is mostly for map testing, not playing.
Deen, can I have a link/explanation why anyone even want this "better estimate distance" possibility? (ingame I mean, I dont care about entities in editor, they will stay) During my ~7 years experience I`ve never been wanted this ever (may be cause I can count ground entities but never freeze tiles)

This topic is worrying me, that is why I know a lot of players that using it NOT for testing but for playing. Not sure if there more testers then such players. At least the game client is more for players but not for testers, is not it? Plus, tester - is mostly exeperienced player.

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3274
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by deen » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:30 pm

For testers to easily say whether something is still hookable.

User avatar
BannZay
User
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:26 am
Location: Ukraine
Player profile: BannZay
Mapper profile: BannZay

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by BannZay » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:44 pm

I was a mapper, I was a tester, I`m a player.
I understand your point, but I fcking want use overlay entities to play poor designed maps also. While this looks awfull in DDNet client, I cant do that.
So what can I do ?

I want control over situatuion istead of attempts to undestand designer ideas

User avatar
deen
Retired Administrator
Posts: 3274
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:30 pm
Player profile: deen

Re: Improve overlay entities

Post by deen » Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:23 pm

If we change it back how do we know whether someone won't complain the other way around?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest