Page 1 of 3

Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:16 am
by Ama
I had this idea while playing that sometimes you dont know which weapon you have picked up couse you are frozen

and you never know if you friend has the weapon or not and he cant tell you becouse he is frozen

i made a quick concept im not good with graphics so it looks bad but maybe someone could use this idea

Tell me if you like this or not in the poll :D

Here when you have no weapons
First.png
Here you picked up a Grenade
second.png
And here with all weapons
third.png

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:25 am
by Lady Saavik
Hey, I don't like too much useless things on the screen when I'm playing.
I would put small images of weapons/bullets they use if I have the weapon.
And just nothing if I don't have.

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:27 am
by imp
It really shouldn't take too much space. What about a new command? Maybe /weapons or so

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:29 am
by Ama
Yeah it shouldnt be big i just did it fast couse i had this idea

i guess this should be something you can turn on and off becouse it could lead to some people saying wtf is that doing on my screen :D

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:33 am
by Lady Saavik
I edited my post but I will write a new one ^^

Or show ammo only when I hold the weapon and I'm freezed. Then you can see
1. what weapons you picked up
2. what weapon you currently hold so you can start hammerfly or laser someone. And you can switch weapons by scrolling because you see what weapon you choose.
I mean you can see greandes under shields when you have grenade in the hand, bullets for shotgun, nothing for hammer.

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:12 am
by milk
Great idea! Especially for ddrace, but would be useful for ctf and other mods too. So maybe better to make it switchable:
1) Show all owned weapons.
2) Show only current weapon (as Lady Saavik described).
3) Show nothing?

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:36 pm
by Savander
Idea: When you switching, Weapon(img) could be shown on top (or where you want) for 2 seconds ;P :D Like in another games (when you pick up items or switch weapon)

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:08 pm
by Anqel
Hm .. U could just hammer your partner and you he shoot. So u can see if he have got the weapon or not.
Also he can use the numbers 1,2,3,4,5 and if he press 4 and tee isn't switching he has no rocket.
That are 2 ways I do it atm

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:13 pm
by kamillentee
what about removing armor bar while client is connected to a ddrace server. Its senseless IMHO. maybe optional.

BTW I guess gun bar is a good idea

Re: Weapon Pickup

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:36 pm
by kamillentee
Anqel wrote:Hm .. U could just hammer your partner and you he shoot. So u can see if he have got the weapon or not.
Also he can use the numbers 1,2,3,4,5 and if he press 4 and tee isn't switching he has no rocket.
That are 2 ways I do it atm
sometimes it isn't possible to be hammered.
And the trick with numbers is just working if sound is enabled. That means not for me.