Page 1 of 2

Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:21 pm
by ┇»MíM«┇
So the default windows volume bar doesn't show up while in game. (I'm on windows 8.1)
Why doesn't it show up?
Would it be possible to have an option to make the game "not always on-top"?
(if there is no work around for this)

Not sure if its intended but the
Image
closes the game without the 'are you sure' message.

About the process thingy, just want to report that something might be wrong
(it happens rarely maybe im at fault)
I always close ddnet with ctrl+shift+q, sometimes the game closes but the process still exists:
Image

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:40 am
by deen
Not sure how volume bars work in Windows, anyone else know? Try disabling fullscreen maybe.

Yes, the quit thing is intended, why would you need a confirmation? If you want it back in the next version you can set cl_confirm_quit_time 0

The process still running after quitting is definitely a bug, I opened one for it: https://github.com/ddnet/ddnet/issues/1554

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:28 pm
by stompie
im on win 10 and i always use ctrl+shift+q, the process doesnt stay open afterwards

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:41 pm
by Prankster
DDNet client went downhill after version 10.6.5. Just use that version for optimal performance under windows. Eversince they switched from bam to cmake windows compatibility just got worse.

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:06 pm
by Ryozuki
Prankster wrote:
Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:41 pm
DDNet client went downhill after version 10.6.5. Just use that version for optimal performance under windows. Eversince they switched from bam to cmake windows compatibility just got worse.
ignorance is strength

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:09 pm
by deen
It's possible that some things got worse. If you have a reproducible scenario and can describe it in detail, or even show a video of how the performance decreased, then please get in touch with us.

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:27 pm
by deen
Please try the nightly build of https://github.com/ddnet/ddnet/pull/1608 if you have performance problems with newer DDNet versions: https://ddnet.tw/news/nightly-builds/

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:42 am
by Pathos
┇»MíM«┇ wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:21 pm
So the default windows volume bar doesn't show up while in game.
Can you clarify what you mean by "default windows volume bar doesn't show up while in game" for us? Does this mean that after opening DDNet, the volume bar disappears? What's the volume bar? Can you take a screenshot of it?



I only experienced worse performance from updates, but it's only because my settings were overwritten. It can get annoying. You should try copying your settings over instead.

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:48 am
by Jimmy Jazz The 1st
The annoying part about closing before asking is either clicking it by accident when opening settings or when youre in the map editor. I would say atleast have it there for when youre in the map editor because one simple mistake and it will cost a lot of time.

Re: Ingame volume bar & Quit button & DDNet process

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:30 pm
by fokkonaut
if you have an unsaved map it will always ask