Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Request help for teeworlds-related subjects (mapping, servers, ..).
For client issues, see our repositories (https://github.com/ddnet/ddnet/issues).
Post Reply
nathanj
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:25 pm
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/nathanj/

Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Post by nathanj »

Hi there,

I am having a big problem with TW since the 11.1.1 update. Let me explain it all in the correct order:
So yesterday I did the 11.1.0 DDNet update without any problem. A bit later came the 11.1.1 update that I did as well, but this time I lost all my settings/skins/binds... And I hadn't saved the config file in Appdata before ^^ Now I know how to avoid that but it is not the issue here as I put it all back to normal.

The thing is although the dynamic camera is unchecked in the DDNet options it is still working in-game and I can't get rid of it! (I can't play like that it moves too much everywhere...)
If I bind a button to toggle dyncam it doesn't change anything when I press it.

I installed the 11.1.2 update today and yet nothing changed. I also tried to erase all the TW files from my computer including the ones in Appdata to reinstall a new game but the dynamic camera problem persists!
I also noticed a minor similar problem for when I get a new weapon in-game. It should automatically get in my hands because it is activated in the options but it doesn't.

If no one has a solution, could someone give me values to change the dynamic camera settings in the config file so it has the same effect as without it? (I don't know if it is possible) :
cl_dyncam_max_distance 1000
cl_dyncam_mousesens 0
cl_dyncam_deadzone 300
cl_dyncam_follow_factor 60

Thanks for reading!
GG Kid
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:33 am
Location: U.S.A.
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Bolto/
Clan: Kerger

Hello & welcome!

Post by GG Kid »

Sounds like your doing something wrong as what you described should not happen, still could have though
ok i tried it my self & i can not disable Dynamic camera, cl_dyncam 0 affects the Menu's DDnet tabs Dynamic camera X, although i asked many people to try it & it works as usual on 11.1.2, that means there is something affecting it thats present in the default configuration.

so the reason it does not work is the Developers recently change how the Dynamic camera works, most be causing this Bug, the reason it was not discovered sooner is most people use the Dynamic camera. just go download an old DDnet version, 11.0.3 will do.

to find every command for Dynamic camera in DDnet open https://ddnet.tw/settingscommands (linked on the main page) & use Ctrl + F then find dyncam.

Now thats make the Dynamic camera work for you(don't use it though as i have found the solution!). so basically this makes your Dynamic into the normal camera, set cl_dyncam_max_distance 300 & enable Dynamic camera cl_dyncam 1. this basically disables the Dynamic part of it.

ok after some looking into it i have found that the normal Camera's default values have changed, causing the normal Camera to be Dynamic by default! thats why no one was this issue, because they all upgrade or used there old settings file. i figured this out by comparing my settings(that work) with the default settings(that is Bugged!) & changing one thing at a time till i got the thing that caused it. so i have proven that the toggling of Dynamic camera works, so lets set the normal Camera's values to the Good old one's!

cl_mouse_followfactor 0
cl_mouse_max_distance 400
P.S. i don't understand why there are so many Camera mode's! plus why does the Normal camera have a "followfactor"?! this is too weird, maybe Deen will shed some light on this for us! P.S.S. congratulations on finding your first DDnet bug!
default 10.8.6 values {good}Show
cl_mouse_deadzone 0
cl_mouse_followfactor 0
cl_mouse_max_distance 400
cl_dyncam_max_distance 1000
cl_dyncam_mousesens 0
cl_dyncam_deadzone 300
cl_dyncam_follow_factor 60
default 11.1.2 values {bad}Show
cl_mouse_deadzone 0
cl_mouse_deadzone 300
cl_mouse_followfactor 60
cl_mouse_max_distance 800
cl_dyncam_max_distance 1000
cl_dyncam_mousesens 0
cl_dyncam_deadzone 300
cl_dyncam_follow_factor 60
Image go diffchecker.com! Moderation note: this should be moved to client Bugs, but i know you won't anyway, index. EDIT: i was wrong, thanks man!
Last edited by GG Kid on Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:25 am, edited 3 times in total.
nathanj
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:25 pm
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/nathanj/

Re: Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Post by nathanj »

I should have thought of installing an older DDNet version! I tried it now and the problem is odly still here (I didn't check it's config file though).

But this command cl_mouse_followfactor 0 worked just fine, thank you!
I put the cl_mouse_max_distance value to 400 as my mouse was getting out of the screen.

Problem solved for me, thank you!
Learath2
ADMIN Team
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:43 pm

Re: Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Post by Learath2 »

This is because in ye olden days tw enabled/disabled dyncam by modifying cl_mouse_follow_factor/cl_mouse_max_distance/cl_mouse_deadzone but then came along DDRace (or DDNet not sure which) which introduced cl_dyncam along with cl_dyncam_follow_factor/cl_dyncam_max_distance/cl_dyncam_deadzone which caused some confusion as to when which setting was applied and also caused weird behaviour like dyncam being disabled in the options making your dyncam toggles useless.

Fixed this in 20cac1c by getting rid of the old way of enabling dyncam.

TLDR: Your dyncam was enabled the old way, so you need to disable/reset it by hand with
cl_mouse_followfactor 0
cl_mouse_max_distance 0
cl_mouse_deadzone 0
GG Kid
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:33 am
Location: U.S.A.
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Bolto/
Clan: Kerger

fixed? no. it's not

Post by GG Kid »

well thanks for explaining the history but this guys issue was not fix by any comment of yours, in fact it looks like you unfixed what deen fixed causing his issue, sure you fixed one thing but broke another, look i don't understand the code & i i'm probably wrong. this is all the Comments i could find.
this is my basic understanding
  • in the old days (2014?) the Teeworlds client allowed you to make your camera Dynamically follow your mouse. there was no "Dynamic camera" option back then, only the adjustments to Mouse follow factor, max distance & dead zone.
  • some DDrace client added a toggle that changed the Mouse follow factor & max distance in memory as the "Dynamic camera" we know, but this one was only a UI option & had no adjustments
  • DDnet adds a CMD toggle for "Dynamic camera" https://github.com/ddnet/ddnet/pull/204 because there was non, also adds adjustments/settings for it. present in version 10.X, at this point we have three Cameras! (normal camera, UI DYN Cam, CMD DYN cam)
  • Learath2 fixes issue caused by the old implantation by "getting rid of the old way of enabling dyncam" aka Remove "vanilla" dyncam toggle.
    https://github.com/ddnet/ddnet/commit/20cac1c
  • some how in removing the old UI Dyn cam you broke the default settings for the Normal Camera
it's clear you didn't even try what you told him to do, do you even understand whats going on? if you set cl_mouse_max_distance to zero it does exactly what you think it would; changes the max distance you can move your pointer to zero.

please fix this one last issue, you have done so much. if you don't like try my self, can't be too hard, most be some defaults to change somewhere.

also why not just remove the mouse follow factor (cl_mouse_followfactor) from the normal mouse? whats the point of basically having two Dynamic camera's, now that dynamic Camera is a feature that option should be removed.
GG Kid
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:33 am
Location: U.S.A.
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Bolto/
Clan: Kerger

Re: Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Post by GG Kid »

Jupeyy fixed it for us! download the fixed version: https://ddnet.tw/downloads/DDNet-nightly-win64.zip or wait till next release.
Learath2
ADMIN Team
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:43 pm

Re: fixed? no. it's not

Post by Learath2 »

GG Kid wrote: Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:57 pm it's clear you didn't even try what you told him to do, do you even understand whats going on? if you set cl_mouse_max_distance to zero it does exactly what you think it would; changes the max distance you can move your pointer to zero.
I copy pasted one of those wrong, sue me. `cl_mouse_max_distance 400`

It was a defaults issue, I forgot dyncam was on by default. Sorry.
GG Kid
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:33 am
Location: U.S.A.
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Bolto/
Clan: Kerger

Re: fixed? yes, it is!

Post by GG Kid »

Learath2:"I copy pasted one of those wrong" how could that be? that value was never zero. look a don't even want an answerer to that question, the point is you have been lazy, in this a in coding. but i don't even want to make you feel bad. please have i beautiful day! it's that i expected more from you, in fact i have done the same my self & don't want others to do so too.
#moreSorryThenYou

sincerely, GG Kid
triki
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:44 pm
Player profile: http://ddnet.tw/players/triki/

Re: Dynamic camera can't be deactivated

Post by triki »

Dont touch dyn cam. im always play with that.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests