Just bind it

Guides about mapping and everything Teeworlds related.

User avatar
kamillentee
User
Posts: 688
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:47 pm
Player profile: http://ddnet.tw/players/kamillentee/
Clan: |*KoG*|

Re: Slow moving kamille

Post by kamillentee »

Bind to move very slowly only 3 or 4 steps for every scrollwheel turn (depending on direction).
slow_move_kamille.gif
slow_move_kamille.gif (1.59 MiB) Viewed 376 times
This animation runs on full speed btw.

A. As you already might now you will stop all movement when pressing a/d at the same time. Now if you bind +right and +left to the mousewheel ( bind mousewheelup +right and bind mousewheeldown +left) you can interrupt this stopping signal for a very short time. But you cannot just press a/d at the same time as this does not work reliably (try it out yourself). You will need to bind bind x "+right; +left" on a key. Use the mousewheel and keep holding x (the order is important otherwise you will move much faster in the beginning)

There are different ways too.

B. If you dont have a mouse (or like me are too lazy to get it) you could also bind +right; +left to another key besides x, lets say y. Now press x then a movement key like a or d and then y. Hold all keys for a second (otherwise you move too far) then release the movement key then the rest.

C. Use trackpoint scrolling for infinite movement if you have a trackpoint. With new thinkpads it does not work without ending, but with my very old external IBM thinkpad keyboard it does without any limit

D. Combine A and B to make it more reliable, as sometimes you move too far. (I for myself just watch the clock on top and use the binds only at certain times as it depends from timing)
Broso56
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:23 pm
Clan: ShitPlayer

Re: Just bind it

Post by Broso56 »

(not sure if you respond still, considering this was 3-4 years ago, but if anyone else knows this that might stumble upon this) Is it possible to make a bind that rebinds itself?

e.g I have like 9 different binds for different colors (okay I might have a problem....) and I thought of an idea to basically merge all of that into one key. So essentially it would be like cycling through all the colors i have. Not sure if i can do this though.
Index
User
Posts: 1091
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 7:30 pm
Clan: Eagle

Re: Just bind it

Post by Index »

I guess that should be possible with a rather complicated .cfg-file setup: You can take a look at the recently posted Rick-Roll bind (viewtopic.php?p=69050); he uses one key to cycle through the whole "song", taht means rebinding the single key to the next step all the time. If you adapt that to "player_color_body FOO" instead of "say FOO", it should probably work? :o

However I didnt really bind any complicated stuff lately, so another user might give you a more detailed explanation .__.
Kynilix
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:48 am
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Kyn-616--671--616--1276-/
Clan: Virgin Gang

Re: Just bind it

Post by Kynilix »

It is pretty easy to make a bind for that, indeed with a .cfg file.
All you have to do is put your binds one by one in CFG files ;
In this example, "mouse1" is the key that you use to cycle through your binds, and "a" is the key used to change colour.

colour1.cfg:
bind a "+left; player_color_body 1"
bind mouse1 "+fire; exec colour2.cfg

colour2.cfg:
bind a "+left; player_color_body 2"
bind mouse1 "+fire; exec colour3.cfg

And so on until the last file which will use the command differently :

"bind mouse1 "+fire; exec colour1.cfg"
As it will restart the cycle.
Kynilix
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:48 am
Player profile: https://ddnet.tw/players/Kyn-616--671--616--1276-/
Clan: Virgin Gang

Re: Just bind it

Post by Kynilix »

If you had me misunderstand, hit me up to try and explain it again, or come see me ingame sometime to ask.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest